olive_branch2
Book Now Facebook square white large Pinterest circle white large Facebook circle white large Google + circle white large Pinterest circle white large Twitter circle white large Camera white large

TESTIMONIALS

 

Alex Y - British Wheel of Yoga Teacher

 

Andrew and I had a wonderful time with you; we felt thoroughly refreshed when we got home and the yoga has done us both a power of good. Personally I felt your teaching has given me a great boost.  The food was delicious. We both felt the group really gelled and the childcare from Sally was excellent. Maya did a great job with Jemima, you’re lucky to have her when the baby comes along.

 

We certainly do remember El Convento with a happy heart.

Christa N

 

We have had the most wonderful stay and would love to come again. Thank you so much for making it so beautiful. You are very special people and we feel lucky to have discovered your retreat and to have been part of your amazing environment.

 

The whole experience was very uplifting and I miss it all already.

Tina and Chris

 

We had a lovely time at El Convento and are now back in England with a slightly heavy heart at returning to everyday life and work! The boys missed all their friends when we left. Thanks also for being so accommodating about Chris's dietary needs. Thanks again for a great holiday and perhaps we will be be back again another year. Great memories of staying with you and wishing you all the best

 

Dani J.K.

 

Just want to thank you for a remarkable and very memorable week  - we all loved it in our own way - and want to thank you for creating such a beautiful and happy environment.

 

Kristina H.

 

We apologise for leaving without saying goodbye. Thank you for a wonderful experience at the beautiful El Convento. We really enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family. Sally and Leilah were so caring and fun with Mia and Ben. It was great to meet the other families, especially Heather and Grace.

We really enjoyed the yoga and both feel that we have learnt a lot from you. You are an excellent teacher. We feel inspired to do a daily yoga practice!

Pachi's cooking was delicious, we also learnt a lot from her.

 

Laura Chrysler - reviewed on www.yogatrail.com

 

I stayed at El Convento in the spring of 2013. A small group of us were there for a teacher training. 21 days in this beautiful setting was one of the best experiences in my life. If you are looking for a place to really learn, grow and ground yourself....this is it. Nic and family and his staff were amazing. Waking up in the morning to the sun rising over the mountains was breathtaking. So much room to hike and explore as well. I will someday come back here to relive my experiences. Thanks Nic!

Ingvil G - reviewed Nov 2015 on www.tripadvisor.com

 

My daughter and I spent a week at El Convento in July/August 2014. At the time she was five years old, and she loved and embraced the place from the very first moment. As we are Norwegians, the language could have posed a small problem for her, but it didn't, partly also thanks to Henriette who speaks Norwegian. She felt at home right away and enjoyed the mornings with the other children and the babysitters. As for me, doing yoga three hours a day did wonders to mind and body. Nic is a great asthtanga-yoga teacher. The place is truly beautiful, and green, and as we like hiking a lot, there were plenty of possibilities to excplore the National Park.

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to combine and evolve their own yoga practice while at the same time having plenty of time to be with your family and kid(s).

Family Mcphee - reviewed Aug 2015 on www.tripadvisor.com

 

Travelled with my eight year old daughter and we both agree it was our favourite holiday of all time! The setting is amazing, fabulous mountain and forest views and beautiful blue skies, very relaxing, simply stunning. The yoga teaching was very professional and inspiring and perfectly balanced with other activities. A morning yoga session of around 2 1/2 hours on the roof top terrace (imagine the tranquility of the setting - sun rising, forest sounds, time and space and no demands - bliss!) As you practice you can hear the kids having fun nearby and know they're in safe hands, getting to be in nature, making friends and having a great time. My daughter grew lots during the trip and I had guilt free time to myself. We stayed in the adobe hut which was just perfect for us, kept nice and cool for sleeping. The outdoor showers were wonderful during the hot sunny days and there is an indoor one we used in the evenings. The vegetarian food was absolutely amazing with lots to choose from - it was great for my daughter to try new things - being slightly 'fussy' some of the dishes were a challenge for her but she gave quite a few a try which I loved and could always find something that she liked. The food was very plentiful -iIt always seemed to be one mealtime or anothe. Swimming in the old monastery 'bolsa' after yoga and 'late breakfast' was a highlight for us, as was relaxing on the sun terraces and lounging on the day beds. The family and the staff are all very friendly and welcoming which added to the harmony and ease of the trip. I think you would find it hard to find a better overall authentic experience and this was excellent value for money. We would most definitely recommend and will return if the opportunity arises!

Natalie R- reviewed Aug 2015 on www.tripadvisor.com

 

To spend a Week in the middle of a national Park is awesome. The food was excellent, the rooms were basic but beautiful. The Yoga classes in the morning were suitable for beginnes but also for advanced Yoga practioners. The kids had a great time meanwhile the parents focus on their yoga. It was a special Holiday. We will come back!

 

 

Busy Mum Belgium- reviewed Aug 2015 on www.tripadvisor.com

 

We stayed at El Convento in July 2014. We had a really lovely time - Nic and his family - as well as the rest of the team - were attentive and ensured that we were really well looked after. The yoga was quite taxing (we were complete beginners) but Nic was so helpful that we wouldn't have missed a session for the world and felt really well for it at the end of the week. The food was delicious (vegetarian and sometimes vegan) and we left feeling so well fed and so healthy. El Convento is situated in a natural reserve - it was beautiful - stunning views, quiet with lots of local walks ... It was hot but there is a splash pool just up the hill to cool off in and a paddling pool for the children. There were several young people there to entertain the children, which they did extremely well. There were lots of little children, but our daughter of 10 also enjoyed herself a lot. The only downside was that our room (the adobe hut) was extremely hot at midday and we struggled to find a cool place for a nap. We didn't mention this at the time, but I'm sure that Nic would have found us a solution if we had. All in all, highly recommended!

Jenny L - reviewed Aug 2015 on www.tripadvisor.com

 

Just came back from my first ever yoga retreat with my very active and nature loving boys (5 and 7 years old). We absolutely loved the experience at El Convento. The location is truly stunning and the team is awesome in making you feel at home and at ease. The boys adored Olivia and her activities (especially the yoga class she treated them with) and hanging out with Alon to help him pick fresh vegetables in the garden and prepare healthy delicious vegetarian food! And they loved the special attention from Alon helping hem to jump off a cliff into the 'pool'. tt was a great combination of getting me into a yoga routine (I still keep it up 5 mornings a week after returning home) and a great nature experience for the kids. If they are into nature this is the place, they caught lizards, got friendly with the cats, swam in a river and did hikes in the surrounding mountains. They still talk about it and would love to return! I have tried yoga a few times before and always felt awkward because I cant do the postures due to inflexibility. It was great to get special attention from Nick and suggestions on alternative postures for my 'level'. It made me feel that I can do yoga after all and with time I will get more flexible. I can already do the bridge (on the head but anyway) which I was not ready for while at the retreat. I like to see progress! All in all I would highly recommend the retreat for families with a passion for yoga / learn yoga and who appreciate the nature, friendliness from Nick, his wife and son and their team and the treat of healthy home-cooked yummy food for a week! So peaceful and relaxing and fun!

Amy Bramely – reviewed October 2016 on www.tripadvisor.com  

 

“This is heaven”

For a start, I had not expected the location to be a 20 minute drive along a dirt road – truly in the middle of nowhere – and what a treat! You literally feel like you've dropped off the map. Sleeping in a simple but nicely decorated wooden hut, all of us together, with the fresh mountain air around us – it doesn't get much better than that. Using the natural shower after practice was also a bonus. The chef was fantastic, the food nourishing and different every day, always delicious. She also catered to my coeliac 8-year-old without any problems. The yoga was perfect – I got some really good tips for my Ashtanga practice from Nic, and really enjoyed the slow warm-up to practice each day. There was no pressure to be there at a precise hour, which was perfect considering I was alone with 3 kids and it could sometimes be challenging to get them fed and ready in time. Having said that, it was a nice long practice each day. It really is a very child-friendly place, while also managing to provide you with a proper escape for your own practice and free time. My two eldest (6 and 8) ran wild from morning to night – such a safe place, so many adventures to be had. Henriette and Nic are genuine, warm hosts, and the other people they have around them who help and keep the children occupied during practice were all wonderful. I'd love to go back!

Lenka – reviewed October 2016 on www.tripadvisor.com

 

“Most relaxing and inspiring holiday”

We are a family with two children (5&8 years old) and decided to do a different holidays this summer. We spent one week early August 2016 in El Convento and were not dissapointed. Everything was perfect, the welcoming family of Nic and Henriette, sense of community, great food, caring staff and sleeping in a hut in the middle of nature reserve was special. Yoga in the morning was challenging but after one week you felt much better and the inspiration stayed with us. We all fell in love with the place and Nic's family and will be back. Thank you for everything.