Book Now Facebook square white large Pinterest circle white large Facebook circle white large Google + circle white large Pinterest circle white large Twitter circle white large Camera white large



Alex Y - British Wheel of Yoga Teacher


Andrew and I had a wonderful time with you; we felt thoroughly refreshed when we got home and the yoga has done us both a power of good. Personally I felt your teaching has given me a great boost.  The food was delicious. We both felt the group really gelled and the childcare from Sally was excellent. Maya did a great job with Jemima, you’re lucky to have her when the baby comes along.


We certainly do remember El Convento with a happy heart.

Christa N


We have had the most wonderful stay and would love to come again. Thank you so much for making it so beautiful. You are very special people and we feel lucky to have discovered your retreat and to have been part of your amazing environment.


The whole experience was very uplifting and I miss it all already.

Tina and Chris


We had a lovely time at El Convento and are now back in England with a slightly heavy heart at returning to everyday life and work! The boys missed all their friends when we left. Thanks also for being so accommodating about Chris's dietary needs. Thanks again for a great holiday and perhaps we will be be back again another year. Great memories of staying with you and wishing you all the best


Dani J.K.


Just want to thank you for a remarkable and very memorable week  - we all loved it in our own way - and want to thank you for creating such a beautiful and happy environment. 

Kristina H.


We apologise for leaving without saying goodbye. Thank you for a wonderful experience at the beautiful El Convento. We really enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family. Sally and Leilah were so caring and fun with Mia and Ben. It was great to meet the other families, especially Heather and Grace.

We really enjoyed the yoga and both feel that we have learnt a lot from you. You are an excellent teacher. We feel inspired to do a daily yoga practice!

Pachi's cooking was delicious, we also learnt a lot from her.


Laura Chrysler - reviewed on www.yogatrail.com


I stayed at El Convento in the spring of 2013. A small group of us were there for a teacher training. 21 days in this beautiful setting was one of the best experiences in my life. If you are looking for a place to really learn, grow and ground yourself....this is it. Nic and family and his staff were amazing. Waking up in the morning to the sun rising over the mountains was breathtaking. So much room to hike and explore as well. I will someday come back here to relive my experiences. Thanks Nic!

Ingvil G - reviewed Nov 2015 on www.tripadvisor.com


My daughter and I spent a week at El Convento in July/August 2014. At the time she was five years old, and she loved and embraced the place from the very first moment. As we are Norwegians, the language could have posed a small problem for her, but it didn't, partly also thanks to Henriette who speaks Norwegian. She felt at home right away and enjoyed the mornings with the other children and the babysitters. As for me, doing yoga three hours a day did wonders to mind and body. Nic is a great asthtanga-yoga teacher. The place is truly beautiful, and green, and as we like hiking a lot, there were plenty of possibilities to excplore the National Park.

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to combine and evolve their own yoga practice while at the same time having plenty of time to be with your family and kid(s).

Family Mcphee - reviewed Aug 2015 on www.tripadvisor.com


Travelled with my eight year old daughter and we both agree it was our favourite holiday of all time! The setting is amazing, fabulous mountain and forest views and beautiful blue skies, very relaxing, simply stunning. The yoga teaching was very professional and inspiring and perfectly balanced with other activities. A morning yoga session of around 2 1/2 hours on the roof top terrace (imagine the tranquility of the setting - sun rising, forest sounds, time and space and no demands - bliss!) As you practice you can hear the kids having fun nearby and know they're in safe hands, getting to be in nature, making friends and having a great time. My daughter grew lots during the trip and I had guilt free time to myself. We stayed in the adobe hut which was just perfect for us, kept nice and cool for sleeping. The outdoor showers were wonderful during the hot sunny days and there is an indoor one we used in the evenings. The vegetarian food was absolutely amazing with lots to choose from - it was great for my daughter to try new things - being slightly 'fussy' some of the dishes were a challenge for her but she gave quite a few a try which I loved and could always find something that she liked. The food was very plentiful -iIt always seemed to be one mealtime or anothe. Swimming in the old monastery 'bolsa' after yoga and 'late breakfast' was a highlight for us, as was relaxing on the sun terraces and lounging on the day beds. The family and the staff are all very friendly and welcoming which added to the harmony and ease of the trip. I think you would find it hard to find a better overall authentic experience and this was excellent value for money. We would most definitely recommend and will return if the opportunity arises!

Natalie R - Reviewed Aug 2015 on www.tripadvisor.com


To spend a Week in the middle of a national Park is awesome. The food was excellent, the rooms were basic but beautiful. The Yoga classes in the morning were suitable for beginnes but also for advanced Yoga practioners. The kids had a great time meanwhile the parents focus on their yoga. It was a special Holiday. We will come back!



Busy Mum, Belgium - Reviewed Aug 2015 on www.tripadvisor.com


We stayed at El Convento in July 2014. We had a really lovely time - Nic and his family - as well as the rest of the team - were attentive and ensured that we were really well looked after. The yoga was quite taxing (we were complete beginners) but Nic was so helpful that we wouldn't have missed a session for the world and felt really well for it at the end of the week. The food was delicious (vegetarian and sometimes vegan) and we left feeling so well fed and so healthy. El Convento is situated in a natural reserve - it was beautiful - stunning views, quiet with lots of local walks ... It was hot but there is a splash pool just up the hill to cool off in and a paddling pool for the children. There were several young people there to entertain the children, which they did extremely well. There were lots of little children, but our daughter of 10 also enjoyed herself a lot. The only downside was that our room (the adobe hut) was extremely hot at midday and we struggled to find a cool place for a nap. We didn't mention this at the time, but I'm sure that Nic would have found us a solution if we had. All in all, highly recommended!

Jenny L - Reviewed August 2015 on www.tripadvisor.com


Just came back from my first ever yoga retreat with my very active and nature loving boys (5 and 7 years old). We absolutely loved the experience at El Convento. The location is truly stunning and the team is awesome in making you feel at home and at ease. The boys adored Olivia and her activities (especially the yoga class she treated them with) and hanging out with Alon to help him pick fresh vegetables in the garden and prepare healthy delicious vegetarian food! And they loved the special attention from Alon helping hem to jump off a cliff into the 'pool'. tt was a great combination of getting me into a yoga routine (I still keep it up 5 mornings a week after returning home) and a great nature experience for the kids. If they are into nature this is the place, they caught lizards, got friendly with the cats, swam in a river and did hikes in the surrounding mountains. They still talk about it and would love to return! I have tried yoga a few times before and always felt awkward because I cant do the postures due to inflexibility. It was great to get special attention from Nick and suggestions on alternative postures for my 'level'. It made me feel that I can do yoga after all and with time I will get more flexible. I can already do the bridge (on the head but anyway) which I was not ready for while at the retreat. I like to see progress! All in all I would highly recommend the retreat for families with a passion for yoga / learn yoga and who appreciate the nature, friendliness from Nick, his wife and son and their team and the treat of healthy home-cooked yummy food for a week! So peaceful and relaxing and fun!

Amy Bramely – reviewed October 2016 on www.tripadvisor.com  


“This is heaven”

For a start, I had not expected the location to be a 20 minute drive along a dirt road – truly in the middle of nowhere – and what a treat! You literally feel like you've dropped off the map. Sleeping in a simple but nicely decorated wooden hut, all of us together, with the fresh mountain air around us – it doesn't get much better than that. Using the natural shower after practice was also a bonus. The chef was fantastic, the food nourishing and different every day, always delicious. She also catered to my coeliac 8-year-old without any problems. The yoga was perfect – I got some really good tips for my Ashtanga practice from Nic, and really enjoyed the slow warm-up to practice each day. There was no pressure to be there at a precise hour, which was perfect considering I was alone with 3 kids and it could sometimes be challenging to get them fed and ready in time. Having said that, it was a nice long practice each day. It really is a very child-friendly place, while also managing to provide you with a proper escape for your own practice and free time. My two eldest (6 and 8) ran wild from morning to night – such a safe place, so many adventures to be had. Henriette and Nic are genuine, warm hosts, and the other people they have around them who help and keep the children occupied during practice were all wonderful. I'd love to go back!

Lenka – reviewed October 2016 on www.tripadvisor.com


“Most relaxing and inspiring holiday”

We are a family with two children (5&8 years old) and decided to do a different holidays this summer. We spent one week early August 2016 in El Convento and were not dissapointed. Everything was perfect, the welcoming family of Nic and Henriette, sense of community, great food, caring staff and sleeping in a hut in the middle of nature reserve was special. Yoga in the morning was challenging but after one week you felt much better and the inspiration stayed with us. We all fell in love with the place and Nic's family and will be back. Thank you for everything.


Go_Limp, London (UK) – Reviewed August 2017 on www.tripadvisor.com  


“Absolutely beautiful week!”

We had a great week with Nic, family and volunteers. The location is magical, mystical, idyllic. The morning yoga was great, food plentiful and delicious and there were a couple of great day trips. We also loved the accommodation, which was beautifully designed and truly unique.

Lenkacim, Brussels (Belgium) – Reviewed August 2017 on www.tripadvisor.com  



This summer we were again blessed to be able to spend a week in El Convento with Nic, his wonderful family and the caring team.

They say if something is good, do not overdo it, do it over. We returned for our second visit which was just as spectacular as the first.

Great coordination by Nic, inspiring yoga, professional team, amazing food and pure nature in the middle of the natural park. We met some other beautiful families again and came back home truly rejuvenated. We will be back again and highly recommend this magical place.

Lucy E. – Reviewed November 2017 on www.tripadvisor.com  


“True relaxation - Beautiful healing holiday”

When we arrived at el Convento I felt instantly at home and so deeply happy to be surrounded by such beauty. I always felt looked after and content – the food was fabulous and I really appreciated and welcomed having breakfast after yoga and then a lunch in the afternoon. I think it was the first time since having my child that I felt true relaxation – it was such a gift. The team looking after my son were caring and responsible and he had so much fun playing with the other children. I feel really blessed to have had this experience and we miss so many lovely things especially looking out onto the mountain each morning from our little hut. You really have created a little paradise – everyone who has seen my photos has said that the place looks beautiful and lots of people are asking where I went on holiday!

Liz, Sheffield (UK)  – Reviewed November 2017 on www.tripadvisor.com  


“Fantastic family holiday with a difference”

My son and I had a fantastic week in August 2017. My son had an amazing time, running wild with the other children, living/playing as children did before the advent of screens/technology. He was extremely well looked after and loved his morning trips up the hill while we were doing yoga. As a single parent, it was ideal as we both had company, I had relaxation/'me' time and he was entertained. The food was amazing, both wholesome and tasty. It inspired me in how I cook now on my return. The staff were amazing too, friendly and welcoming. I could do with a trip like this every few months to re-charge.

Janaina C. – Reviewed December 2017 on www.tripadvisor.com


“Beautiful place, people and yoga: EVERYTHING about it was special”

We had an amazing experience here, went me my husband and our first baby (who was 9 months during the retreat) and came back renewed and grateful for all experienced! The place is so peaceful and beautiful, everyone in the El Convento team was lovely with us; our baby and the kids were so well taken care of while adults joined the yoga sessions. Food is delicious. The yoga excellent and everybody could fit, advanced and basic level students improving at their levels - I learned and enjoyed a lot and have been practicing regularly since then. The hosts Nic, Henriette and their family are indeed very special people, and the families who came (some for 2nd or 3rd time) very nice to meet as well. This was a lot more then a holiday trip, and more like a gift to body, mind and soul :) We picked this place after reading many reviews online, I would warmly recommend and definitely like to come back. Thank you so much for the experience and more importantly what we brought home with us!

Yvette G., Midsomer Norton (UK) – Reviewed December 2017 on www.tripadvisor.com


“Amazing location and a fantastic yoga teacher”

We came to this very special place for the first time in June for a family yoga retreat and it was really magical. Nic the yoga teacher was very inspiring. He catered for all levels and you could go at your own pace or try more advanced poses. I felt really amazing after doing yoga for a few hours every morning and my husband also really enjoyed it. It was his first yoga retreat and usually this wouldn't be "his thing", however he really enjoyed it and would certainly be back. It was lovely that we could do yoga and our 2 daughters were doing activities and then we could spend the afternoon together; walking, swimming and playing, It suited everyone. The views are breath taking and the natural water from the mountains makes you feel young and vibrant:)! We've also kept in contact with some of the families as you meet like minded lovely people. Great way to spend a vacation. Would highly recommend.

Rebekka, Oslo (Norway) – Reviewed December 2017 on www.tripadvisor.com


“A beautiful space for yoga and family relaxation - my daughter and I loved it!”

The couple Nic and Henriette have created a wonderful space among olive trees, having renovated an old monastry that serves as the hub of the estate. I had been on the look out for a different holiday offering serenity yoga and family time and at El Convento these wishes were met to the fullest! I had booked a bell tent as our place to sleep and it was super cosy and my daughter of now 7 loved it! Also it felt very connected to nature with a amazing night sky to gaze on in the evenings. NIcs yoga routine in the morning was perfect catering to every level in an Ashtanga series - combining elements of the first and second series. He compassionatly guided the the group through practice every morning. The days were relaxed and the kids on the retreat became good friends and played all day long, allthough the ages differed a lot. The ambience was warm and welcoming and Henriette talked to every one of us making sure we had everything we needed. The food was all vegetarian and delicious with extra treats from the wild growing fig trees around! We spent a week in beginning of July 2017 and allthough it was hot we managed fine taking dips in the fresh and cool water reservoir close by. The other guests were amazing people with so interesting backgrounds and everyone contributed to making this a very special holiday! My daughter still talks warmly about the time and the firends she made there! So look no futher - this is a perfect space for yoga, healing and connection.

Tom K. – Reviewed January 2018 on www.tripadvisor.com


“Memorable, magical and moreish. We loved our week here”

I'd always had a dream of a family yoga holiday, but on investigation, it became apparent that they are not (yet) much of 'a thing'. However Nic, his own family and their team are way ahead of the curve here, having been providing pretty much exactly what I had imagined/hoped for, over many years already.

When my wife found the website and it all looked so lovely, we agreed we simply had to go. In so many ways El Convento surpassed our fantasy of how ideal a week being totally off-grid, with daily stretching and aimless family hanging-out time could be.

From the moment of arrival, the pace of our London lives was dropped, and days became about picking almonds for the talented chef to transform into dinner, discussing our yoga challenges or perhaps wandering up to the old monastery to take a refreshing dip.

Every day was a highlight, but the guided walks, the swim up the river, a visit to Ronda and of course, the serene and peaceful daily sunrise yoga all stand out.

They've got it just right here. They know how to make magic. Hearing the sound of the kids singing and laughter getting louder as they slowly make their way down the hill for their 'second breakfast', while the adults all lie in shavasana, is close to holiday perfection.

The other guests and the staff quickly became part of an extended family, but there's plenty of space to have a quiet time too. And being taught yoga by the children on the final evening proved to be yet more perfectly orchestrated magic.

One day I'm convinced family yoga will be offered all over the place, but by carving out their niche here, Nic and co. have managed to perfect my dream concept already.